Welcome to Affraschool!


Kindergarten and Standards 1 to VII

Pre KG, LKG, UKG, Grades 1 to 7
All our programs are designed to expose the child to his/her first group/social experience with other two and three year-old children. The student will participate in a variety of activities that focus on the development of the physical, intellectual, emotional, social and moral aspect of the child. Following is an outline of six essential units of study:


(Levels 5-year-old through 13-year-old)
(JULY 2019)
The purpose of this overview is to inform the teacher of important information found in
the following Course Outcomes and Essential Units. Please READ CAREFULLY the following descriptions and information before proceeding:
Course Outcomes:

  • Read carefully the Course Outcomes and their contents.
  • The Course Outcome Statement gives an overview of each Essential Unit and any additional Selective Units required for the duration of the course.
  • Outcome Statement contains essential unit information along with guidelines for helping a teacher to implement essential units. Essential Units:
    • Essential Units must be taught.
    • Each Essential Unit contains Essential Outcomes.
    • Each Essential Unit may contain Introduced and Practiced/Ongoing Outcomes and/or Skills (skills in 11-13-year-old).
  • Essential Outcomes:
    • Essential Outcomes (TSW) found in each unit must be assessed for mastery. Practiced/Ongoing Outcomes and/or Skills:
    • These may be skills that students have mastered but need to continue to practice, or skills that students need to continue to develop but are not yet targeted for mastery.
    • A Student should work on these skills continuously throughout many, if not all the units in each course.
      1. Selective units may be engaged as needed throughout time of engagement in Theses outcomes and/or skills are support to the student’s demonstration  of mastery of the Essential Outcomes (TSW’s).Selective Units:
        1. Selective Units may be used to complete the total number of required units

        necessary for a QSI Literacy (Reading & Writing) courses if this is an option

        in the Course Outcomes.

        1. Selective Units offer a teacher flexibility to choose a unit that will align with

        other subject areas or conduct a more in-depth study of a previous unit. a course.

      1. Selective Units allow the student to work on course related mastery that

      strengthens and supports mastery of essential units.


How and what do the children learn?
The children:
 learn 44 sounds and the corresponding letters/letter groups using simple picture prompts
 learn to read words using sound blending
 read lively stories featuring words they have learned to sound out
 after meaningful discussion led by an adult children show that they comprehend the stories
by answering questions
The children:
 learn to write the letters/letter groups which represent the 44 sounds
 learn to write words by saying the sounds and graphemes
 learn to build sentences orally using adventurous vobabulary
 start with simple sentences and develop towards more complex ones by the end of the

 compose a range of texts using discussion prompts
Children are assessed so they work with children at the same
level. This allows them to take a full part in all lessons.
They work in pairs so that they:
 answer every question
 practise every activity with their partner
 take turns in talking to each other
Apart from our specialization mentioned above, we have other core subjects which we follow ICSE syllabus which is a better option compared to CBSE and State.